‘Yellowjackets,’ ‘Ted Lasso,’ ‘Bottoms’ and Reneé Rapp Win Top Prizes at GLAAD Media Awards

Winners also include 'Fellow Travelers,' 'RuPaul's Drag Race' and 'Monica'

renee Rapp
Christopher Polk for Variety

Bottoms,” “Ru Paul’s Drag Race,” “Ted Lasso,” and Reneé Rapp took home top prizes at the GLAAD Media Awards, which this year celebrates the 35th anniversary of the annual award show.

Awards were handed out Thursday night at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills. The show was hosted by actor and comedian Wayne Brady.

Oprah Winfrey received the Vanguard award, which was introduced by iconic Chicago drag performer Chili Pepper and celebrity host Paolo Presta. Television star Niecy Nash-Betts received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award presented by Sharon Stone.

“Many people don’t know this but 35 years ago, my brother Jeffrey Lee passed away when he was just 29-years-old from AIDS,” Winfrey said.

“Growing up at the time we did in the community we did, we didn’t have the language to understand or to speak about sexuality and gender in the way that we do now,” she continued. “At the time, I really didn’t know how deeply my brother internalized the shame that he felt about being gay. I wish he could have lived to witness these liberated times and to be here with me tonight.”

Nash-Betts invited her wife, Jessica Betts, to stand up while recalling the couple’s romance and refusal to keep their relationship a secret. “You are the reason, Jessica, that I am standing here tonight feeling like the queer of the year,” Nash-Betts said. “Thank you! Let’s continue to fight to normalize love.”

While politics and far right threats to LGBTQ equality were woven throughout many speeches and remarks during the evening, Rapp called for an Israel-Hamas ceasefire while accepting the award for outstanding music artist. “I’d like to take the opportunity to show support and call for an immediate ceasefire and permanent ceasefire in Gaza,” she said to applause.

Oprah Winfrey speaks onstage at the 35th Annual GLAAD Media Awards held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on March 14, 2024 in Beverly Hills, California. Mark Von Holden for Variety

The night also featured special musical performances from Chloe Bailey and Kate Hudson.

Since 1990, the GLAAD Media Awards has honored a wide array of media such as film, television, journalism and music that fairly and accurately represent the LGBTQ community, highlighting those individuals who stand at the forefront of the ongoing battle for inclusivity.

See a full list of winners below.

Outstanding Limited or Anthology Series: “Fellow Travelers” (Showtime)

Outstanding Comedy Series: “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Drama Series: “Yellowjackets” (Showtime)

Outstanding Reality Competition Program: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (World of Wonder)

Outstanding Film – Wide Theatrical Release: “Bottoms” (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer)  

Outstanding Film – Limited Theatrical Release: “Monica” (IFC Films)

Outstanding Music Artist: Renné Rapp

Outstanding Breakthrough Music Artist: David Archuleta

Outstanding Children’s Programing: “Ada Twist: Scientist” (Netflix)

Outstanding Kids & Family Programming or Film – Animated: “Hailey’s On It!” (Disney Channel)

Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: Out

Outstanding Video Game: “Baldur’s Gate 3” (Larian Stuidos)

Outstanding Comic Book: “Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (Marvel Comics)

Outstanding Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: “Four Color Heroes” (Fanbase Press)

Spanish Language – Outstanding Scripted Television Series: “La Noches De Tefia” (Atresplayer)

Spanish Language – Outstanding TV Journalism: “Adolescentes trans relatan su experiencia – Noticiero Telemundo” (Telemundo)  

Barbara Gittings Award for Excellence in LGBTQ Media: +Life Media

Special Recognition: “The Dads” (Netflix)

Special Recognition: “Love in Gravity” (ViiV Healthcare)

Special Recognition: “Relighting Candles” (Hulu)

Special Recognition: “Renaissance: A Film by Beyonce” (AMC Theatres)

Special Recognition: The Tennessee Holler

Special Recognition: “Yes I am: The Ric Weiland Story” (Virgil Films)

Special Recognition: “Drag Latina” (Revry / LATV)

Special Recognition: “Enamorándonos” (UniMás)

Special Recognition: “El sabor del la Navidad” (ViX)

Special Recognition: “Wendy, perdida pero famosa” (ViX)

The remaining winners will be announced at GLAAD’s New York Ceremony on May 11.